Rain, rain go away

When the plane landed in Minneapolis last Tuesday we encountered a bit of turbulence and it was a rough ride.  Heading down to baggage claim I saw out the window that it was a downpour at 1:30 in the afternoon.  By the time we made it home (around 4:00) it was sunny and humid.  I was disgusted because we had just spent a week in warm, sunny North Carolina.

On Wednesday night my son had a baseball game at 6:00 in the evening.  At the start of the game, the temperature was 65 degrees and a light mist was coming down.  By the end of the game it was about 57 degrees and a steady rain was falling sideways due to the wind.  I was cold, aching, and disgusted.

I made the comment to my wife that I can’t stand the rain anymore.  To which she pointed out that I was leaving this climate zone and moving into one that has an actual Monsoon Season where it rains for days on end.

I guess what I meant was that I wanted a climate that was somewhat predictable, expected and appropriate to the season!  I am tired of the weather this year.  You have no idea how to dress from one day to the next and you cannot have a reasonable expectation that the weather will even be appropriate to the season you are currently in.

I don’t care if it is hot as long as it is the same type of hot every day.  Rain itself doesn’t bother me per se, but an icy cold rain the middle of JUNE does.  I don’t mind snow as long as it understands it’s time and place in the calendar and is happy to exit the premises when the show is over.

So, right now the rain is irritating me.  The cold is bothering me.  Jenni once said that Minnesota is doing it’s best to try and chase us out of the country.  I think she is right.

The only thing predictable about the Minnesota weather this year is that it is unpredictable.

Somewhere a weather person just died.

Leave a Reply

