Connections

I have a student in class whose family is originally from Bangladesh. When I told her that I would be moving there, she jumped for joy and ever since then she has been trying to teach me Bangla – the primary language in Bangladesh.

Today after musical rehearsal, her mother came in to meet me. We had a lovely talk about Bangladesh.  She filled me in on their family that live there, the places that she remembers (they have been living in the US for 15 years), and a little bit about the area we will be living in.

It was a great conversation and the things we talked about made me even more eager to go.  She mentioned some drawbacks, but she said “It is nothing you cannot handle.”  She even said she was going to give me some names and numbers of people she knew there if I needed anything.

My student’s family is very excited for my family to go.
We are very excited to go.

Leave a Reply

